Breaking – Super Falcons Coach Unveils Squad for Paris Olympics qualifiers against South Africa

Spread the love

13 / 100

The Super Falcons of Nigeria defeated Cameroon on a 1-nil aggregate to book a spot with South Africa in the final rounds of the Olympic Qualifiers

Coach Randy Waldrum has announced the list of players invited to represent the Nigerian women’s national team, the Super Falcons, in the upcoming Paris Olympics final qualifying fixture against South Africa, reports.

Among the 22 players called up are familiar faces such as captain Rasheedat Ajibade, Africa queen Asisat Oshoala, and goalkeeper Chiamaka Nnadozie.

The squad also includes Saudi Arabia-based defender Ashley Plumptre, veteran Osinachi Ohale, and midfielder Deborah Abiodun.

Notable recalls have been made for 2019 World Cup star Chidinma Okeke and forward Chiwendu Ihezuo, while U20 defender Shukurat Oladipo earns her first invitation.

The Super Falcons will face South Africa in a two-legged tie, with the first leg scheduled for April 5th at the MKO Abiola National Stadium in Abuja.

The return leg will take place on April 9th at the Loftus Versfeld Stadium in Pretoria. The winner of the tie will secure one of Africa’s two tickets to the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament.

Coach Waldrum has also retained regulars like wing-back Michelle Alozie, midfielders Christy Ucheibe and Halimatu Ayinde, and forward Gift Monday in the squad.

Full list of invited players:
Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC); Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia); Linda Jiwuaku (Bayelsa Queens)

Defenders: Osinachi Ohale (Pachucha Club de Futbol, Mexico); Ashleigh Plumptre (Ittihad Ladies, Saudi Arabia); Shukurat Oladipo (FC Robo Queens); Michelle Alozie (Houston Dash, USA); Nicole Payne (Portland Thorns FC, USA); Chidinma Okeke (Mynavi Sendai Ladies, Japan)

Midfielders: Deborah Abiodun (University of Pittsburgh, USA); Halimatu Ayinde (FC Rosengard, Sweden); Christy Ucheibe (SL Benfica, Portugal); Jennifer Echegini (Juventus Ladies, Italy); Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain); Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain)

About The Author

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.