Eagles know AFCON foes Tuesday, seeded in Pot A

Spread the love

9 / 100

The Super Eagles will on Tuesday know their opponents for next year’s Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroon after the Confederation of African Football on Saturday seeded the countries, with Nigeria in Pot A.

The draw for the AFCON will be held at Yaounde Conference Centre and will see the 24 participating teams divided into six groups of four teams each.

The 24 qualified teams will be allocated to four pots of six teams each, based on the latest FIFA World Rankings.

Nigeria, currently the fifth ranked team on the continent, Senegal and two former champions Tunisia and Morocco complete the pot one line-up.

Senegal topped the latest global rankings, with Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco, Nigeria, Egypt, Ghana, Cameroon, Ivory Coast and Mali completing the top 10.

The strength of the 24-team line-up is illustrated by Egypt and Ghana, who have won the Cup of Nations 11 times between them, being only second seeds.

There are 10 winners of the Cup of Nations among the qualifiers for the January 9 to February 6, 2022 tournament at six venues in five cities, including fourth seeds Ethiopia and Sudan.

The draw at the Palais du Congress will divide the entrants into six groups, from which all the winners and runners-up plus the best four third-placed teams will advance to the knockout phase.

Pot 1: Cameroon, Algeria, Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco, Nigeria

Pot 2: Egypt, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Mali, Burkina Faso, Guinea

Pot 3: Cape Verde, Gabon, Mauritania, Sierra Leone, Zimbabwe, Guinea-Bissau

Pot 4: Malawi, Sudan, Equatorial Guinea, Comoros, Ethiopia, Gambia

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.